Welcome to the site created by the students who graduated fom the Abbey CBS in 1950. We share a few pictures
 and memories of the class of 1949/50. Enjoy!

Background to our First Gathering

On the 20th February 1987 the late Father Eamonn McGivern one of "The Good Old Abbey Boys "was requested to organise a Mass for deceased members of 1950 Senior Class,their Christian Brothers and Teachers.  The Mass was celebrated in St. Peters Warrenpoint and afterwards with dinner in the Aylesfort Restaurant.  There was an excellent attendance of 1950 Senior  class Past pupils there wives and the widows of deceased old boys of that year.We were very lucky that Bro. Newell and Mr. Fitzpatrick were able to take part in our celebrations. 

At a later date and as a result of discussions at that gathering a small steering group was established consisting of the late Raymond Mc Court,Charlie Symth,Ted Goodman, Mick Joyce And Jack Kavanagh to ensure the arrangement of an annual Mass for deceased past pupils and commemoration of the Abbey School the Christian Brothers and teachers who had given so many of us so much.


Patrick Francis Bartley          William John O'Hagan          Edward C McGivern            James Conrad Hollywood
Joseph Raymond Bradley     Brian Valentine O'Hare        John Francis McManus       James Noel Keenan
James Gerald Davis              Edward Vincent Rennick      Joseph Gerald McQuade    Peter Vincent McCreesh
James Pascal Fadden            Bernard William Treanor      Peter Eugene Murray         John Francis McEvoy
Michael Francis Joyce          Andrew Edward Boyd         William O'Hagan                  Michael McKeown
Raymond Leo McCourt        Edward Jpseph Carr            William A O'Neill                  Felix McNally
Liam McDermott                  Malachy Delahunt               Columba George Ruddy     John Hugh Mackin
James McGenity                   Peter Edward Goodman      John Anthony Wall             Raymond Joseph Murtagh
Daniel Thomas McKevitt      John Joseph Kavanagh        John Bradley                      Charles Bertran O'Hanlon
Francis A McPartland            Patrick Gerard McCreesh    Joseph Connell                  William Patrick Rafferty
Terence Joseph Murnion     Malcolm McErlane               Brian John Durkin               Charles Patrick Smyth
Subpages (1): Newspaper Articles